Mike Oldfield – Discovery LP

  • €12,00
    Yksikköhinta kohti 
Sisältää veron.

Label: Virgin – 206 300, Virgin – 206 300-620
Format: Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo
Country: Europe
Released: 1984
Genre: Electronic, Rock
Style: Pop Rock, Prog Rock


A1 To France 4:50
A2 Poison Arrows 3:45
A3 Crystal Gazing 3:02
A4 Tricks Of The Light 3:52
A5 Discovery 4:32
B1 Talk About Your Life 4:24
B2 Saved By A Bell 4:36
B3 The Lake 12:08

Toimitusmaksu 7€ (1-20 levyä) 

Toimitus: heti   

Kaikki käytetyt levyt ovat pesty ultraäänipesurissa ja niiden kunto on tarkistettu.

Levyn kunto:  

Media Condition: Near Mint (NM)
Sleeve Condition: Very Good Plus (VG+)

Huom! Kuvat kansista eivät välttämättä vasta tuotteen todellista kuntoa.



Mint (M) - uusi, avaamaton
Near Mint (NM) - lähes uudenveroinen
Very Good Plus (VG+) - erittäin hyväkuntoinen, hyvin pidetty, ei naarmuja (jotkut kutsuvat myös termillä EX)
Very Good (VG) - hyväkuntoinen kuuntelulevy, saattaa olla hiusnaarmuja ja jälkiä jotka eivät vaikuta soittoon
G+ (Good Plus) - levyssä saattaa olla naarmuja ja jälkiä, pääsääntöisesti soi läpi


Discovery is the ninth studio album by English multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Mike Oldfield, released on 25 June 1984 on Virgin Records. It comprises a number of pop songs, most notably the single "To France", as well as the instrumental "The Lake".

Background and recording

After his 1983 tour, Oldfield relocated to Villars-sur-Ollon, Switzerland for tax purposes and started work on a new album.[1] The album was recorded from January to June 1984.[3] Sessions typically ran from 10:30 a.m. to around 7 p.m. each day.[3] While living in Villars, Oldfield also composed the soundtrack to The Killing Fields (1984). Selections from the two were released as The 1984 Suite, in 2016.

The album contains a number of pop songs, which Oldfield had been encouraged by Virgin Records to write, following the success of "Moonlight Shadow" from his previous album, Crises.

The first track of the album, "To France", with Maggie Reilly on vocals, seamlessly continues into the second track, "Poison Arrows", sung by Barry Palmer.

According to Oldfield, the instrumental "The Lake" was inspired by his time in Switzerland and around Lake Geneva.[4]

During 1984 Oldfield and his band embarked on a Europe wide tour in promotion of the album.

2016 reissue

Discovery was re-released in a deluxe edition format on 29 January 2016,[5] as per all previous albums which were originally released on the Virgin label.

The reissue comprises 2 CDs (Discovery and the 1984 Suite) and a DVD featuring 5.1 surround sound mixes. The 1984 Suite is a compilation album of Discovery and Oldfield's other 1984 album, The Killing Fields. It also includes two previously unreleased tracks: "The Royal Mile", a slight reworking of the 1984 track "Afghan", and "Zombies (Halloween Special)", a reworking of the song "Poison Arrows" with the original vocals replaced by a "Speech-generating device" and the lines "Somebody's out to get you" replaced with "Zombies are out to get you".

Recording and instruments

Around the time of Discovery Oldfield had been seen using a Gibson SG Junior and a Les Paul Junior (including a modified 24 fret fretboard), along with a pair of Fender Stratocasters (red and sunburst). Oldfield also used guitar synthesizers on the album, utilising Roland's GR-300 and G-808 controller. The Roland G-88 bass synth controller is heavily used for bass guitar sounds on the album. It is likely that a mandolin made by Scottish-based luthier Mike Vanden is used in "To France". Among the acoustic guitars on the album, an Ovation Adamas was used. Oldfield's main compositional tool for the album was the Fairlight CMI. In addition to using its sequencing abilities he also used it as a sampler, for example with Maggie Reilly's voice on "The Lake".

Barry Palmer and Maggie Reilly did not meet until the album was finished even though they share vocal duties on "Tricks of the Light"; they recorded their vocals separately.

Sleeve photos

The inner sleeve of the original vinyl LP featured candid photographs taken during the recording sessions. One of the photos, titled "Simon's notes", shows a handwritten list of tracks recorded during the sessions, some of which - such as "T'Sword" - may either have been released under different names or remain unreleased to this day.


  • Mike Oldfield – all instruments (except drums), producer
  • Maggie Reilly – vocals (1, 3–4, 6)
  • Barry Palmer – vocals (2, 4–5, 7)
  • Simon Phillips – drums, producer
  • Dan Kramer – cover photography

Suosittelemme myös