Liquid Tension Experiment – Liquid Tension Experiment 3 LP levy

  • €35,00
    Yksikköhinta kohti 
Sisältää veron.

Label: Inside Out Music – IOMLP 582, Sony Music – 19439837751
Format: 2 x Vinyl, LP, Album, 180 Gram
CD, Album
Country: Europe
Released: Apr 16, 2021
Genre: Rock
Style: Progressive Metal, Prog Rock

Kunto: Uusi (Mint)
Toimitusmaksu 7€ (1-20 levyä)
Toimitus: heti


A1 Hypersonic 8:22
A2 Beating The Odds 6:09
B1 Liquid Evolution 3:23
B2 The Passage of Time 7:32
C1 Chris & Kevin's Amazing Odyssey 5:04
C2 Rhapsody In Blue 13:16
D1 Shades Of Hope 4:42
D2 Key To The Imagination 13:14
CD-1 Hypersonic 8:25
CD-2 Beating The Odds 6:08
CD-3 Liquid Evolution 3:25
CD-4 The Passage Of Time 7:32
CD-5 Chris & Kevin's Amazing Odyssey 5:04
CD-6 Rhapsody In Blue 13:11
CD-7 Shades Of Hope 4:44
CD-8 Key To The Imagination 13:14

iquid Tension Experiment 3 is the third studio album by the American instrumental progressive metal super group Liquid Tension Experiment. Released on April 16, 2021,[1] it is their first studio effort since 1999's Liquid Tension Experiment 2.[7]

The regular edition of the album contains eight tracks, including two duets, one "on-the-fly jam" and one "meticulously arranged cover"; the bonus disc comes with almost one hour of improvisations. It was released in digital, CD, LP and Blu-ray formats, including a limited 2CD+Blu-ray artbook edition and a limited deluxe hot pink box set.[7]

A video for the song "The Passage of Time", their first composition in 22 years, was released on January 22, 2021[7][8] This was followed up by a video for "Beating the Odds" on February 26, 2021,[9][10] and then by a video for "Hypersonic" on March 24, 2021.[11]

Background and writing

On December 14, 2020, band members Tony Levin (bass), John Petrucci (guitars), Jordan Rudess (keyboards) and Mike Portnoy (drums) released a series of posts on social media (pictures of themselves wearing surgical masks spelling out "LTE 3") teasing a third Liquid Tension Experiment album; a picture of the four of them together with the same masks was posted the following day.[12] On December 17, 2020, it was formally announced that Liquid Tension Experiment 3 would be released by Inside Out Music in the second quarter of 2021.[13] The date, later announced to be March 26, has since been delayed to April 16, 2021, due to printing errors by the manufacturer.[1]

The album had been recorded secretly in August 2020,[14] at the Dream Theater studio named DTHQ.[15] Portnoy had previously recorded drums for Petrucci's solo album Terminal Velocity at the studio, their first release together since 2009's Black Clouds & Silver Linings (with Dream Theater);[16] the band would re-use the studio for the LTE sessions. Portnoy and Rudess also had performed together during a Cruise to the Edge a few years before.[17] The drummer said that the "insanity of 2020" allowed them some time to reunite.[17]

Also according to Portnoy, all members plus two studio professionals quarantined and took tests before the album's sessions.[17]

Like Liquid Tension Experiment 2, each song is described by the band in detail within the liner notes.

The track "Chris & Kevin's Amazing Odyssey" is a follow-up to "Chris and Kevin's Excellent Adventure" (from Liquid Tension Experiment) and "Chris & Kevin's Bogus Journey" (from Spontaneous Combustion); Chris and Kevin is how a photographer mistakenly called Mike and Tony during photo sessions for the first album, and that has since remained a recurring internal joke and is used to title duets between the drummer and the bassist.[17] It is a drum-and-bass duet featuring Levin on the electric upright bass.[18]

"Rhapsody in Blue", composed by George Gershwin, was arranged and performed by the band during their 2008 tour; the band would record a studio version of the arrangement for the album.[18] The middle section of the band's 2008 arrangement was inspiration for the middle section of "The Count of Tuscany" off Black Clouds & Silver Linings; also, the standard clarinet introduction was played by Levin on the Chapman Stick.[19]


All credits sourced from liner notes.[20]


Additional personnel


  • Rich Mouser – mixing, mastering
  • James "Jimmy T" Meslin – recording
  • Bouchra Azizy – additional digital editing
  • Matthew "Maddi" Schieferstein – band and studio coordinator
  • Sean M. Smith / Echodesignlab – design
  • Chart performance for Liquid Tension Experiment 3
    Chart (2021) Peak
    Austrian Albums (Ö3 Austria)[21] 10
    Belgian Albums (Ultratop Flanders)[22] 82
    Belgian Albums (Ultratop Wallonia)[23] 53
    Dutch Albums (Album Top 100)[24] 15
    Finnish Albums (Suomen virallinen lista)[25] 5
    French Albums (SNEP)[26] 82
    German Albums (Offizielle Top 100)[27] 7
    Italian Albums (FIMI)[28] 21
    Japanese Albums (Oricon)[29] 9
    Portuguese Albums (AFP)[30] 30
    Scottish Albums (OCC)[31] 7
    Spanish Albums (PROMUSICAE)[32] 25
    Swedish Physical Albums (Sverigetopplistan)[33] 3
    Swiss Albums (Schweizer Hitparade)[34] 8
    UK Albums (OCC)[35] 88
    UK Rock & Metal Albums (OCC)[36] 5
    US Billboard 200[37] 109

    Suosittelemme myös